ZombieFit™ :: Vol 6

Crush the Day

Wake up, wake up, wake up, wake up, wake up
It's the first of the month
So get up, get up, get up, get up, get up
So cash your checks and come up

Bone Thugs-n-Harmony (1st of tha Month)

Last week, we explored the notion that life is a multi-objective optimization problem with time, energy, and attention being three of the central axes. High-quality sleep hygiene provided a logical starting point for our exploration since it’s a common thread that intersects them all.

This issue picks up where we left off and advocates for a thoughtful morning routine as part of any reasonable zombie preparedness strategy…

Tonight, Tonight

I used to think that the best way to start a day was with a short planning session for triage, prioritization, and planning. After all, it seemed intuitive enough to tackle a new day with a clear head and fresh perspective.

To each their own, but I've discovered there might just be a better way: stub out the broad strokes of your next day as part of your evening routine before you shut down for the day.

It may seem like an inconsequential difference, but decision fatigue is real. Conserving every ounce of fresh brainpower for creative execution (vs triage, planning, prioritization) paves the way for speed and momentum.

And we know from a prior issue that momentum unlocks your power…

So any way you look at it, tomorrow starts tonight, tonight…

Decisions and Momentum

I typically wake up around 5:15 am, and the time between 5:15 am and 7 am is holy and sacred. Whatever happens before 7 am is going to happen on my terms — and usually, I just want to enjoy the time with myself.

I protect those early hours at all costs, and it’s out of necessity: I need to start the day with a psychological win and build the momentum that will help me to win the day…

Regardless of the exact time you wake up, honor commitments to yourself about getting up. Carefully consider the role momentum plays in your morning routine, and dial in the recurring behaviors that will energize you to perform at your highest level.

Getting Up Early

After nearly 20 years of ongoing experimentation, I've never regretted erring on the side of an earlier wake-up time (provided that I've been sleeping well, and I usually do.)

Each night, I make a conscious commitment to myself to start the next day at a specific time (usually 5:15 am), and I set the alarm. The specific time has varied from anywhere between 4:15 am to 6:30 am over the years, subject to some seasonality in life.

Whether it’s the 1st of tha Month or the 31st of the month, a high-performance morning routine is where the magic happens…

Hydrating

You'll be dehydrated when you wake up — guaranteed. Kickstarting a hydration habit is a small change that can make a massive impact on your day.

This one is easy: just set a reminder to drink fluids within the first few minutes of waking up by leaving a pre-filled water bottle on your nightstand, putting a sticky note on your bathroom mirror, or any other prompt.

I've consumed about ~0.5L of filtered water immediately after waking for nearly 20 years. It feels good to put a big dent in my daily goal of consuming ~2L of fluids each day, and the hydration helps to regulate my appetite throughout the day.

As much as I enjoy coffee, I've trained myself to hold off until after my morning walk. Why? It spikes cortisol production, and that’s not good for maximizing the ole testosterone.

But once 7 am rolls around and my body is ready, I’ll typically have my ceremonial coffee as part of kicking off a deep work session.

Moving & Meditating

In my 20s and 30s, I used to think that walking was essentially a waste of time, but now I know better. Whether I'm just softening up or getting wiser with age, the benefits are numerous. Let me count the ways:

  • It provides an uninterrupted span of time to think + prepare for my day.

  • Exposure to morning sunlight through the eyes helps to regulate the absorption of Vitamin D and regulate circadian rhythms.

  • A morning walk lubricates the joints and promotes blood circulation that warms up the body.

  • A 2-3 mile walk or ruck burns 200-300 calories.

  • And the list goes on...

Starting the day with movement & meditation is always a win. Always.

No Technology

Want to cede control of your day before it even begins?

Check your phone. Mission accomplished.

Nothing on social media needs your attention until you have consciously chosen to start your day and interact with the outside world — and if those people really needed to reach you, they'd be calling you by now.

Seriously, checking your phone first thing in the morning is toxic. Britney knows…

With the exception of starting a walking workout on my Apple Watch, I avoid digital tech, checking messages, and looking at notifications at all costs. Not checking my phone (or bringing it out of Do Not Disturb mode) in the morning was not an easy habit to break, but it’s truly one of the best decisions I’ve made in the past couple of years. (Try it!)

Once I became conscious that I was ceding control of my day by opting into a reactive game that is designed to control my attention and manipulate my emotions, it became easier to break out of the pattern.

Set It & Forget It

Unless I'm on vacation, there's virtually no variance or decision-making in my morning routine unless there's an odd circumstance related to travel or weather.

  • Alarm goes off

  • Get up

  • Drink water

  • Get moving

  • Dial in mindset

By 7 am, I’ve stacked a couple of solid wins, momentum is building, and I’m ready to start jamming on my first deep work session...

And deep work is where we'll pick up next week.

Until then — crush the day!

Command center -- out.
Matthew Russell
Head of Zombie Preparedness

P.S. - I just kicked off a free ZombieFit™ training program for the community, powered by Strongest!

Get your dose of constantly varied, high-intensity functional movement on Instagram by following @strongest.app with the link below.